2015 CTI Fellows List

2015 CTI Fellows *CTI Seminar Leaders and Coordinators are Italicized

Exercise and the Brain
Leader:  Barbara Lom, Biology, Davidson College
Coordinator:  DeNise Gerst, Science, Academic Center
Cassandra Black, Ashley Park PreK-8
Tracie Cooper, Hidden Valley ES
Jeanne Cooper, Mallard Creek High
David Hartzell, Shamrock Gardens Elementary
Deb Jung, Winding Springs Elementary
Amethyst Klein, Winterfield Elementary
Aaron Kollar, Piedmont Open IB Middle
Benji Lewis, Grand Oak Elementary
Ted Miracle, Endhaven Elementary
Molly McCarthy, Piedmont Open IB Middle
Lauren McNeil, Lebanon Road Elementary
Leslie Paytes, Crestdale Middle

What Makes a Nation?
Leader:  Shelley Rigger, Political Science, Davidson College
Coordinator:  Calen Clifton:  Social Studies, Martin Luther King, Jr. Middle
Jennifer Anderson, James Martin Middle
Brad Baker, W.A. Hough High
Annie Calloway, Olde Providence Elementary
Alexandra Edwards, Bailey Middle
Michele Lemere, Garinger High
Lisa Modrow, Bailey Middle
Rob Pinkston, W.A. Hough High
Bridget Robinson, W.A. Hough High
Heather Simpson, Chantilly Montessori
Mark Surratt, Providence Spring Elementary
Katie Willett, Independence High

Origins of Human Language
Leader:  Ron Lunsford, English, UNC Charlotte
Coordinator:  Matt Kelly*, Spanish, Independence High
Kara Anne Boneillo, Reedy Creek Elementary
Adriana Hart, Collinswood Language Academy
Allen Jacobi, Northwest School of the Arts
Melanie Kirschner, Albemarle Road Elementary
Tabitha Miller, Collinswood Language Academy
Sedana Noble, Reedy Creek Elementary
Nicole Nunley Nesbit, Albemarle Road Middle
Margaux Saenz, Oaklawn Language Academy
Seon Sloley-Posey, Barringer Academic Center
Elizabeth Young, Lebanon Road Elementary

Fundamentals of Mathematics: Problem Solving and Process Standards
Leader:  Harold Reiter, Mathematics and Statistics, UNC Charlotte
Coordinator:  Lisa Ashworth, 5th Grade, Barringer Academic Center
Michael Butler, Elon Park Elementary
Dennis Fox, Turning Point Academy
Gilberto Franco, Collinswood Language Academy
Miesha Gadsden*, J.H. Gunn Elementary
Katelyn Gardepe, David Cox Road Elementary
Connie George, Quail Hollow Middle
Kimberly Lipscomb, Highland Creek Elementary
Mindy Passe, Barringer Academic Center
Joanne Rowe, Northwest School of the Arts
Stephen Salisbury, Crowne Point Elementary
Muriel Shuman, Barringer Academic Center
Rima Solh, Eastway Middle

Peace Education: Psychological Factors that Endorse War
Leader:  Rick Gay, Educational Studies, Davidson College
Coordinator:  Jennifer Ladanyi, Language Arts, Bailey Middle
Heather Almaraz, Lebanon Road Elementary
Angela Bates, CATO Middle College High
Gloria Brinkman*, North Mecklenburg High
Albertia Burgess, West Charlotte High
Melanie Greely, Chantilly Montessori
Cheryl Hanly, McClintock Middle
Sarah Korenyik, Northwest School of the Arts
Michael Richards, Bailey Middle
Megan Shellenberger, W.A. Hough High
Roshan Varghese, Butler High
Deborah Watson, Hopewell High
Christopher Williams, East Mecklenburg High

Integrating Concepts in Life Sciences
Leaders:  Malcolm Campbell and Chris Paradise, Biology, Davidson College
Coordinator:  Julie Ruziska Tiddy, Science, Carmel Middle
Chrystal Cavanagh, John M. Morehead STEM Academy
Rose Bockian, Collinswood Language Academy
Rochelle Gray, Mallard Creek High
Julie McConnell, W.A. Hough High
Adora Reid , James Martin Middle
Deb Semmler*, East Mecklenburg High
Sandra Spraggins, Irwin Academic Center
Kimberly Terrell, Steele Creek Elementary
Jennifer Thompson, James Martin Middle
Connie Wood*, East Mecklenburg High

Africa: Moving Beyond Popular Culture  
Leader:  Beth Whitaker, Political Science, UNC Charlotte
Coordinator:  Justine Busto, English as a Second Language, East Mecklenburg High
Nikki Dingle, Coulwood Middle
Ian Joyce, Eastway Middle
Ebone’ Lockett, West Mecklenburg High
Wendy Potter, Butler High
Pam Shembo, E.E. Waddell Language Academy
Jackie Smith, W.A. Hough High
Darrmetacia Winston, Olympic High
Lana Withrow, Barringer Academic Center
Sade Wright, Barringer Academic Center

Supernatural Figures in Theatre, Film and the Brain
Leader:  Mark Pizzato, Theatre, UNC Charlotte
Coordinator:  Stephanie Misko, English, Hough High
Angela Boyce-Thornton, Ashley Park PreK-8
Mawuena Dabla-Egui, Harding University High
Jennifer Dalesandro, Bain Elementary
Nikki Guevara, Bain Elementary
Silvia Monsalve-Velasquez, Bain Elementary
Noelle Peerey, Hopewell High School
Kelley Shelley, Butler High
Teresa Strohl*, Barringer Academic Center
Amy Thomas, Reedy Creek Elementary
* indicates a CTI Steering Committee member