CTI Logo


CTI strengthens teaching and learning in local public schools

Novel coronavirus (COVID-19) update:  CTI 2020 seminars will continue in virtual formats for all eight seminars on scheduled days and times this fall.  Please visit 2020 schedule for dates and times.  We will communicate directly to Seminar Leaders and Fellows with updates particular to Fellows’ Orientation, Campus Connection events, and individual seminar meetings.  For more information visit our partners’ information pages:  UNC Charlotte’s Coronavirus Information page, UNC Charlotte’s College of Liberal Arts & Science About Us page, Johnson C. Smith University’s COVID-19 Information page, and Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools’ COVID-19 Information page.  

About Charlotte Teachers Institute

Through intensive, long-term seminars led by UNC Charlotte and Johnson C. Smith University faculty, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools teachers learn new content, work collaboratively with other teachers, and develop new curricula for their students. Teachers serve as leaders in the institute and choose seminar topics they deem most important and engaging for current CMS teachers and their students.

In addition to its eight annual seminars, CTI presents special events open to all teachers including “Evening for Educators” and “Teachers as Scholars” where CTI Fellows share the new curricula they developed in their seminars. CTI also offers community programs open to the public such as the popular “Exploding Canons” cultural collaboration series. In 2013 CTI and its partners were recognized by the Council of Great City Schools with the Shirley S. Schwartz Urban Education Impact Award.

CTI programs are made possible by a joint commitment of resources from Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools, Johnson C. Smith University and UNC Charlotte, and through the generosity of private funding institutions such as the North Carolina Humanities Council, Wells Fargo, Bank of America, PriceWaterhouse Coopers and Duke Energy. The institute is housed at UNC Charlotte within the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences.